Guantanamo Baywatch - Postcard From The Tar Pitz (Vinyl, LP, Album)

It's Too Late , the band steered away from their surf rock roots and their early lo-fi recording habits to create an album that's set apart from the live experience you'll have with the same songs. At Atlanta's Living Room Recording, Guantanamo Baywatch found recording masterminds who could help the previously-DIY four-track tinkerers achieve the sound they secretly always wanted for their slanted-oldies songwriting tendencies.

This included the ability to apply much more muted effects when employing reverb or echoes Powell describes a Captain Obvious-like creative epiphany from working with better tools leveraged by informed engineers , and most importantly the opportunity to add back-up vocals you can actually hear in the mix.

A lot of times if you're recording really lo-fi, you don't have that much room, you know, like sonic room to put in shit like back-up vocals.

It's really hard to do back-up vocals that don't make stuff sound really muddy on a lo-fi platform. So it was cool. We could do all the back-up vocals I always wanted to do. Five tour vans ago back when back-up vocals were just a hazy dream , Guantanamo Baywatch headed out on their inaugural tour with one especially creepy stop. Huge John Waters fans, the band appropriated and altered the cover art for Waters' book Crackpot for a random, very limited cassette that Powell says he can't even remember why they made, or what songs were on it.

Then they had a friend a former Facebook employee and stalker-skilled hacker track down Waters' address before they got to Baltimore. Once there, they knocked but no one answered, so they left an offering: a pizza box with their debut LP Postcard From the Tar Pitz , the cassette and postcards, plus a Gatorade bottle full of tar they'd collected in the La Brea Tar Pits in Los Angeles.

Fast-forward to this summer when Guantanamo Baywatch will at last meet the curious cult figure for the first time at Burger Records' Burger Boogaloo on 4th of July, which Waters is slotted to host. All The Smoke.

Barnes and Jackson, who have played alongside two generations of All-Stars, will dish on the latest news and drama from on and off the court without boundaries. Expect the unexpected View All Featured Podcasts. Help Privacy Policy Terms of Use. Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August Sunday 9 August Monday 10 August Tuesday 11 August Wednesday 12 August Thursday 13 August Friday 14 August Saturday 15 August Sunday 16 August Monday 17 August Tuesday 18 August Wednesday 19 August Thursday 20 August Friday 21 August Saturday 22 August Sunday 23 August Monday 24 August Tuesday 25 August Wednesday 26 August Thursday 27 August Friday 28 August Saturday 29 August Sunday 30 August Monday 31 August Tuesday 1 September Wednesday 2 September Thursday 3 September Friday 4 September Saturday 5 September Sunday 6 September Monday 7 September Tuesday 8 September Wednesday 9 September Thursday 10 September Friday 11 September See more of Guantanamo Baywatch on Facebook.

Log In. Forgotten account? Not Now. Visitor Posts. Chris Young. Hunter Steers. Happy birthday to the squire of rock n toll, Ricky Nelson. Guantanamo Baywatch is in Portland, Oregon. Postponed: Guantanamo Baywatch and Tropa Magica.

Guantanamo Baywatch.

Explore releases from the Hovercraft label. Discover what's missing in your discography and shop for Hovercraft releases.

9 Replies to “Guantanamo Baywatch - Postcard From The Tar Pitz (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. Jun 30,  · View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Postcard From The Tar Pitz on Discogs. Label: Worksound - WS #1,Hovercraft - HC #25 • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: US • Genre: Rock • Style: Surf, Punk, Rock & Roll Guantanamo Baywatch ‎– Postcard From The Tar Pitz 5/5(5).
  2. Jun 30,  · Postcard from the Tar Pitz by Guantanamo Baywatch, released 30 June 1. Cum Fart Food 2. Titz & Twatz 3. Massage My Taj Mahal Recorded in Portland OR .
  3. Guantanamo Baywatch were formed in by guitarist Jason Powell and bassist Chevelle Wiseman; Powell, originally from Seattle, coined the name for a fanzine piece, and liked it enough that he asked his friend Wiseman (who had moved to Portland from Palo Alto, California) to .
  4. Guantanamo Baywatch - Postcard From The Tar Pitz (LP, Album) Label: Worksound, Hovercraft Cat#: WS #1, HC # Media Condition: Media: Near Mint (NM or M-) Sleeve Condition: Sleeve: Near Mint (NM or M-) NEW IN SHRINK! View Release Page: Seller: exiledrecords; %, 77 ratings ; Ships From: United States; $%(51).
  5. Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Guantanamo Baywatch - Chest Crawl at Discogs. Complete your Guantanamo Baywatch collection.
  6. Dec 06,  · 50+ videos Play all Mix - Guantanamo Baywatch - Teach Me Tiger (April Stevens cover) YouTube The Hiya Dunes - Storms & Pipes - Duration: K Bolas 4, views.
  7. Guantanamo Baywatch discography and songs: Music profile for Guantanamo Baywatch. Genres: Surf Rock, Garage Punk, Garage Rock. Albums include Chest Crawl, Darling It's .
  8. Sep 13,  · 50+ videos Play all Mix - Guantanamo Baywatch on Chic-A_Go-Go YouTube Hilarious FULL Interview with King Khan and BBQ part 1 - Duration: Alabama Public Television 49, views.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *