Mister Magic - Esther Phillips W/ Beck* - What A Diffrence A Day Makes (Vinyl, LP, Album)

Also want the second releaseon the label,'Inner City Blues' as a demo. I also want the paper release as a demo if anybody has one. Petedillon 2 posts. Pete S 1 post. The label ceased to exist in CTI Records.

Select Your Cookie Preferences We use cookies and similar tools to enhance your shopping experience, to provide our services, understand how customers use our services so we can make improvements, and display ads. Sorry, there was a problem saving your cookie preferences. Try again. Accept Cookies Customise Cookies. Used: Very Good Details. Sold by Round3 UK. Condition: Used: Very Good. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed excluding any digital content.

Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries. Add to Basket. Image Unavailable Image not available for Colour:. What a Difference a Day Makes. Amazon Price. Otis was so impressed that he recorded her for Modern Records and added her to his traveling revue, the California Rhythm and Blues Caravan, billed as Little Esther. She later took the surname Phillips, reportedly inspired by a sign at a gas station.

She made several hit records for Savoy with the Johnny Otis Orchestra, including " Mistrusting Blues " a duet with Mel Walker and "Cupid's Boogie", both of which also went to number 1 that year. Few female artists performing in any genre had such success in their debut year. Phillips left Otis and the Savoy label at the end of and signed with Federal Records. But just as quickly as the hits had started, they stopped. She recorded more than thirty sides for Federal, but only one, "Ring-a-Ding-Doo", made the charts, reaching number 8 in Not working with Otis was part of her problem; the other part was her deepening dependence on heroin, to which she was addicted by the middle of the decade.

In , she returned to Houston to live with her father and recuperate. Short on money, she worked in small nightclubs around the South, punctuated by periodic hospital stays in Lexington, Kentucky , to treat her addiction. In , Kenny Rogers discovered her singing at a Houston club and helped her get a contract with Lenox Records, owned by his brother Lelan. Urbie Green with Grover Washington, Jr. Big Blues. Live at the Bottom Line. Johnny Hammond. Lonnie Smith. Inner City Blues.

Wild Horses Rock Steady. Help Me Make it Through the Night. All the King's Horses. We Got a Good Thing Going. Higher Ground. Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing. Feels So Good. Anything Goes. I Hear a Symphony. House of the Rising Sun. The Main Attraction. David Matthews with Whirlwind. Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August

Out of print in the U.S.! album from the versatile Soul/Jazz vocalist featuring one bonus track: 'What A Difference A Day Makes' (Single Version). Players on this danceable slice of Soul/Disco include David Sanborn, Steve Kahn, Joe Beck, Michael Brecker, Will Lee and others. Sony.

8 Replies to “Mister Magic - Esther Phillips W/ Beck* - What A Diffrence A Day Makes (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of What A Diff'rence A Day Makes on Discogs. Label: Kudu - KU SI,Kudu - KU 23,CTI Records - CTI • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: France • Genre: Funk / Soul • Style: Soul, Disco/5(29).
  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of What A Diff'rence A Day Makes on Discogs. Label: Kudu - KU S1,Kudu - KUDU|23 • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: US • Genre: Jazz, Funk / Soul • Style: Soul, Disco/5().
  3. Jun 18,  · Esther Phillips hit big with Disco anthem "What A Diff'rence A Day Makes" mid-seventies from the start of the dance crazed era that played out by decade end combination of Creed Taylor production with stellar Joe Beck arrangements plus awesome hot guitar tracks, put the legendary singer back on top internationally where she belonged, this stunning success would have /5(26).
  4. Esther Phillips hit big with Disco anthem "What A Diff'rence A Day Makes" mid-seventies from the start of the dance crazed era that played out by decade end combination of Creed Taylor production with stellar Joe Beck arrangements plus awesome hot guitar tracks, put the legendary singer back on top internationally where she belonged, this stunning success would have continued had radio /5(25).
  5. Oct 22,  · With that lineup, Esther Phillips could have easily delivered a first-class jazz album. But What a Diff’rence a Day Makes doesn’t contain any jazz — not even jazz-funk or soul-jazz. It is, however, an excellent soul/disco outing.
  6. Mister Magic by Esther Phillips w/ Beck was written by Ralph MacDonald and William Salter and was first recorded and released by Grover Washington Jr. in Esther Phillips w/ Beck released it on the album What a Diff'rence a Day Makes in It was covered by Eddie M., Warren Hill, Ralph MacDonald, Mike Manne and Tiger Blues and other artists.
  7. What a Diff'rence a Day Makes, an Album by Esther Phillips. Released 11 July on Kudu (catalog no. KU S1; Vinyl LP). Genres: Soul, Funk.
  8. Esther Phillips w/ Beck, What A Diff'rence A Day Makes Label: Kudu ‎– KU S1, Kudu ‎– KUDU|23 Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, 12", Stereo, 33 RPM Country: US Released: Genre: Jazz, Funk / Soul Style: Soul, Disco Tracklist A1 One Night Affair A2 What A Seller Rating: % positive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *