Precious Promise

As we journey through life, He is with us—not occasionally, but all the time, every day. Whatever our circumstances may be, we can enjoy His presence every day. How encouraging is this precious promise from the Lord! In John 6, the Lord Jesus presents Himself as the living bread from heaven for us to eat.

Hence, to eat the Lord Jesus is to receive Him into us that He may be assimilated by the regenerated new man in the way of life. Then we live by Him whom we have received. It is by this that He, the resurrected One, lives in us We live physically by the food we eat. First Corinthians tells us that in resurrection, the Lord Jesus became the life-giving Spirit. We can be unsettled by the unexpected or made uneasy by the unknown.

We surely need all of this added perspective! Furthermore, whereas Jesus paid the full price in order to ransom us, you and I may still hesitate over paying the full costs of discipleship, including developing the key attributes of a disciple. Likewise, though Christ successfully resisted all temptations, we still dally, and we may take some temptations under advisement. We also tend to shrug off the persistent reminders of our sins of omission, as if our avoidance of the super sins of transgression and commission were enough.

It is my opinion that in the realm of the sins of omission we can make more major, though quiet, progress than in any other place. That is particularly true of a conscientious people. Like His Father, Jesus exemplifies love perfectly. He so loved the Father and us that He meekly and submissively let His will be completely swallowed up in the will of the Father in order to accomplish the Atonement, including blessing billions and billions of us with the unmerited, universal resurrection. What He did is staggering to contemplate.

No wonder He can help us along. He knows the way. On the cross, He directed John to take care of His mother, Mary. He comforted a thief on a nearby cross. In contrast, when you and I let ourselves get stuck in the ooze of our own self-pity, we fail to notice the needs of others. With a little more effort, we can become a little more noticing and a little more nurturing. Let us reflect on our circles of love. Are they increasing in size, or are they static?

What is the quality of our caring for those within those circles? Do we avoid lazy stereotyping? Are we lovingly patient with others who are also striving to develop? Or do we, judgmentally and impatiently, constantly pull up the daisies to see how their roots are doing? I allude to charity, or love, from which proceed forgiveness, long suffering, kindness, and patience. Jesus likewise exemplifies perfect patience and long-suffering. Routine and repetition may bother us, may bore us. Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August Sunday 9 August Monday 10 August Tuesday 11 August Wednesday 12 August Thursday 13 August Friday 14 August Saturday 15 August Sunday 16 August Monday 17 August Tuesday 18 August Wednesday 19 August Thursday 20 August Friday 21 August Saturday 22 August Sunday 23 August Monday 24 August Tuesday 25 August Wednesday 26 August Thursday 27 August Friday 28 August Saturday 29 August Sunday 30 August Monday 31 August Tuesday 1 September Wednesday 2 September Thursday 3 September Friday 4 September Saturday 5 September Sunday 6 September Monday 7 September Tuesday 8 September Wednesday 9 September Thursday 10 September English Standard Version by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.

Berean Study Bible Through these He has given us His precious and magnificent promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, now that you have escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires. Berean Literal Bible through which He has given to us the precious and magnificent promises, so that through these you might become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the decay in the world in desire.

New American Standard Bible For by these He has granted to us His precious and magnificent promises, so that by them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world by lust.

New King James Version by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

King James Bible Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust. Christian Standard Bible By these he has given us very great and precious promises, so that through them you may share in the divine nature, escaping the corruption that is in the world because of evil desire.

Contemporary English Version God made great and marvelous promises, so his nature would become part of us.

Then we could escape our evil desires and the corrupt influences of this world. Good News Translation In this way he has given us the very great and precious gifts he promised, so that by means of these gifts you may escape from the destructive lust that is in the world, and may come to share the divine nature.

Holman Christian Standard Bible By these He has given us very great and precious promises, so that through them you may share in the divine nature, escaping the corruption that is in the world because of evil desires.

International Standard Version Through these he has given us his precious and wonderful promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, seeing that you have escaped the corruption that is in the world caused by evil desires.

Mar 23,  · Precious Promises. II Peter “Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust. And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience.

8 Replies to “Precious Promise”

  1. Precious promise God hath given.N. Niles. [The Divine Guide.]Concerning this hymn and its writer, S. W. Duffield says in his English Hymns, , p. — "This well-known ‘Moody and Sankey' hymn was written by Mr. Nathaniel Niles, a resident of Morristown, New Jersey, and, at .
  2. Oh what a precious promise; Mary and the child will have a home. And shepherds stand on a hillside, Their hearts racing with the news the angel told them; A star's light fills up the dark sky, As a night of precious promise is unfolding. Oh what a precious promise, Oh what a gift of love; The waiting now is over and The time has finally come.
  3. Precious promise God has given To the weary passerby, On the way from earth to Heaven, “I will guide thee with Mine eye.” Refrain: I will guide thee, I will guide thee, I will guide thee with Mine eye; On the way from earth to Heaven, I will guide thee with Mine eye. When temptations almost win thee And thy trusted watchers fly.
  4. Precious Promise Academy is the ideal location for introducing your four or five-year-old to the joys of learning. We offer customized care to ensure that your little one receives the support he or she needs to succeed in kindergarten and beyond. How VPK Works.
  5. PHILOSOPHY. Ministering to preschoolers by providing a nurturing Christian atmosphere for fun and play that is balanced with learning opportunities to allow each .
  6. Verse 4. - Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises; rather, as in the Revised Version, whereby he hath granted unto us h is precious and exceeding great promises. Does the word "whereby" (δἰ ῶν, literally, "through which things") refer to the immediately preceding words, "glory and virtue"? or is its antecedent to be found in the more distant "all things which.
  7. We can find many promises God has made to us in His Word. For instance, He promises to care for us faithfully and to never forsake us. But in 2 Peter , some of His promises are strikingly described as precious and exceedingly great.. Are these precious and exceedingly great promises related to material things like a better car, a life without financial challenges, or a trouble-free family.
  8. PRECIOUS BIBLE PROMISES Also, known as The Scripture Promises, A Collection of the Promises of Scripture, Clarke's Scripture Promises, Clarke's Bible Promises, Book of Promises, to name but a few. Compiled by Samuel Clarke, D.D. (). Reformatted by Tom Stewart with An Historical Perspective of Precious Bible Promises by Tom Stewart and.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *